Keepingthe hacker out

Jack Stones, a famous hacker, brought down the biggest industrial groups. Take inspiration from his hacking techniques to better protect yourself from attacks.

Episode1

Keeping the hacker out

New podcast

High-speed

espionage

High-speed espionage

Episode1 • 10:49

A talented hacker, Jack Stones acts most often behind his computer screen. But he also knows how to blend in with a crowd ... or on a train. His mission: to approach the target in the wagon, and find an opportunity to steal the confidential research documents stored on his computer. Ultra fast action and above all invisible to the negligent victim.

Discover the other episodes

FAQ

A suspicious e-mail, i.e. of a malicious nature, should catch your attention by the unusual nature of its format or request: spelling or syntax errors, the tone or turn of phrase of the author, a sender you do not know…

If you receive an email that looks suspicious, do not click on the attachments or links. You should also not give out your professional or personal login details or even your bank details. You must report this email to Support ASK.

And if by mistake you clicked on a link or opened a suspicious attachment, even if you closed it right away, you have to report it as well: if the attachment is actually malicious, it only needs a few microseconds to corrupt your computer, especially considering how fast computers can execute commands today. Most often, these malicious codes run in stealth mode and without displaying anything on the screen. We all make mistakes, but if you do click, the most important thing is to know how to react. Report what you did directly to ASK and they will do their best to remove any doubt by analyzing your device. At worst, you will have avoided a security incident.

Email is still the most used written communication medium in most companies. Also, the volume of requests contributes to reducing the level of vigilance devoted to each one. It is therefore unfortunately logical that emails are nine out of ten times the entry way for corporate hacking.

If you use the same password in several places (websites, applications...), and one of them was to be hacked, the password associated with your name or email address would then be known, and could be reused by attackers to effortlessly access your user account on other sites where it would be identical.

A good password, or a so-called "strong" password, is one that takes too long to guess or crack by testing all combinations, for example. This is why it is important to choose a long password (at least 12 characters), and one that does not contain any known information that could make hacking easier: do not use your login, your name, your first name, or any other information that can be found about you. Ideally, you can even complicate the hacker's job by varying the possibilities: use lower case, upper case, special characters or punctuation...

One trick is to take a quote that you know well or that is easy to remember, and use only the first few letters of each word. For example: "Being famous on Twitter is like being rich in Monopoly :)" would give "BfoTilbriM:)". And this is a 14-character password that is hard to crack! (Atia14cptihtc!)

Company's informational assets: methods, processes, patents, know-how... It is with good reason that data is called the new black gold. There will always be someone for whom this data is valuable (by giving them a competitive, strategic or financial advantage) and who may try to acquire it illegally. That's why you need to be careful about what you share, and with whom, but also about what you might voluntarily or involuntarily expose.

Keeping the hacker out
Contact ASK

Having a doubt

of being a hacker's target?

Contact ASK

See other episodes

 

Month of cybersecurity

The European Cybersecurity Month (ECSM) is the European Union’s annual campaign dedicated to promoting cybersecurity among EU citizens and organisations, and to providing up-to-date online security information through awareness raising and sharing of good practices.

The ECSM campaign is coordinated by the European Union Agency for Cybersecurity (ENISA) and the European Commission, and supported by EU Member States and hundreds of partners from Europe, and beyond.

The European Cybersecurity Month

French presidency of the European union: the cyber security cooperation networks of the EU have met in Paris

Le mois de la cybersécurité
Le mois de la cybersécurité
High-speed espionage
/
  • High-speed espionage

    High-speed espionage

    Oct 4, 2021 • 10:49

    Discover exclusively the testimony of Jack Stones, a computer hacker whose cyberattacks have shaken the leaders of large industrial groups.

  • To pay or not to pay?

    To pay or not to pay?

    Oct 14, 2021 • 11:19

    Mandated by a competitor to buy up a competitive market, Jack shifts from shadow to light. He leaves his hacker’s den to infiltrate openly into the heart of a business. His goal: to derail the production line with spyware. Exhilarated by the taste for risk and the greed, he will…

  • Criminal messaging

    Criminal messaging

    Oct 21, 2021 • 11:25

    Jack evokes the birth of his “vocation”. From small amateur hacks to massive cyber attacks, he defines hacking as child’s play. His first shot? A theft of sensitive data carried out on a café terrace. Just by listening to a conversation. Clever, simple and terribly effective. What espionage techniques did…

  • Identity theft

    Identity theft

    Oct 28, 2021 • 11:00

    A hacker’s most important tool? Patience. Jack waited 200 days to go from phishing to the perfect catch. 200 days to destabilize a company before it goes public. 200 days spent collecting data, observing, intercepting identifiers. Patiently, he infiltrated the company’s computer system, and more precisely, the brains of its…

Ne faites pasentrer le hacker

Jack Stones, hacker de renom, a fait tomber les plus grands groupes industriels. Inspirez-vous de ses techniques de hacking pour mieux les détourner.

Episode 1

Ne faites pas entrer le hacker

Nouveau podcast

Espionnage

à grande vitesse

Espionnage à grande vitesse

Episode 1 • 10:49

Hacker de talent, Jack Stones agit le plus souvent derrière son écran d’ordinateur. Mais il sait aussi se fondre au milieu d’une foule… ou dans un train. Sa mission : s’approcher de la cible dans le wagon, et trouver une occasion de lui dérober les documents de recherche confidentiels stockés dans son ordinateur. Une action ultra rapide et surtout invisible pour la victime négligente.

Découvrez les autres épisodes de la série

FAQ

Un mail suspect, c’est-à-dire à caractère malveillant, doit éveiller votre attention par le caractère inhabituel de son format ou de la demande : des fautes d'orthographe ou de syntaxe, le ton ou la tournure de phrase de votre interlocuteur, un expéditeur dont vous n'avez pas l'habitude…

Si vous recevez un mail qui vous semble suspect, il ne faut pas cliquer sur les pièces jointes ou les liens. Il ne faut pas non plus communiquer vos identifiants professionnels, personnels ou même vos coordonnées bancaires. Vous devez signaler ce mail au Support ASK.

Et si par erreur vous aviez cliqué sur un lien ou ouvert une pièce jointe douteuse, même si vous l'avez refermé tout de suite, vous devez le signaler également. Si la pièce jointe est effectivement malveillante, celle-ci n'a besoin que de quelques microsecondes pour corrompre votre poste, notamment avec la rapidité d'exécution que le matériel informatique possède de nos jours. Le plus souvent, ces codes malveillants s'exécutent de manière furtive et sans afficher quoi que ce soit à l'écran. L'erreur est humaine : il peut vous arriver de cliquer, mais le plus important est de savoir réagir. Signalez directement votre action à ASK, qui effectuera, au mieux, une levée de doute en analysant votre poste. Dans le pire des cas, vous aurez évité un incident de sécurité.

Le mail reste encore le moyen de communication écrit le plus utilisé dans la majorité des entreprises. D’autre part, le volume de sollicitations contribue à réduire le niveau de vigilance consacré à chacune. C’est donc malheureusement logique qu’il soit à l’origine de neuf attaques réussies sur dix dans le monde de l’entreprise.

Si vous utilisez le même mot de passe à plusieurs endroits (sites Web, applications…), et que l'un d'entre eux venait à être piraté, le mot de passe associé à votre nom ou votre adresse email serait alors connu, et pourrait être réutilisé par les attaquants pour accéder sans effort à votre compte utilisateur sur les autres sites où applications où celui-ci serait identique.

Un bon mot de passe, ou un mot de passe dit "fort", est un mot de passe qui nécessite trop de temps pour être deviné ou cracké en testant toutes les combinaisons, par exemple. C'est pourquoi il est important de privilégier un mot de passe long (12 caractères au minimum), et qui ne reprenne pas d'informations connues qui permettraient de faciliter le travail d'un attaquant : n'utilisez pas votre login, votre nom, votre prénom, ou toute autre information que l'on peut trouver sur vous. Idéalement, vous pouvez même compliquer encore le travail de l'attaquant en multipliant les possibilités : utiliser des minuscules, des majuscules, des caractères spéciaux ou de ponctuation…

Une astuce consiste par exemple à prendre une citation que vous connaissez bien ou qui est facile à retenir, et à n'en utiliser que les premières lettres de chaque mot. Par exemple : "Etre célèbre sur Twitter, c'est comme être riche au Monopoly :)" donnerait "ecst,c'ceram:)". Et voici un mot de passe de 14 caractères difficile à craquer ! (evumdpd14cdàc!).

Patrimoine informationnel de l'entreprise : méthodes, procédés, brevets, savoir-faire… Ce n'est pas pour rien que la donnée est appelée le nouvel or noir. Il se trouvera toujours quelqu'un pour qui cette donnée présente de la valeur (en lui conférant un avantage concurrentiel, stratégique ou financier) et qui pourrait tenter de l'acquérir illégalement. C'est pourquoi vous devez rester vigilant à ce que vous transmettez, et à qui, mais également à ce que vous pourriez exposer volontairement ou involontairement.

Ne faites pas entrer le hacker
Contacter ASK

Vous pensez être

la cible d'une attaque ?

Contacter ASK

Voir les autres épisodes

 

Le mois
de la cybersécurité

Le Mois européen de la cybersécurité est un rendez-vous clé dédié à la sensibilisation à la sécurité du numérique. Organisé chaque année en octobre à l’initiative de l’ENISA, l’agence européenne chargée de la sécurité des réseaux et de l’information, il est piloté en France par l’ANSSI, l’Agence Nationale de la Sécurité des Systèmes d’Information.

Dans la continuité du Cybermois soutenu par l’ANSSI, SOMFY vous propose une campagne ludique et pédagogique pour aborder le bonnes pratiques pour se prémunir des cyberattaques.

Cybermoi/s : un mois pour faire le point sur sa sécurité numérique

Le mois de la cybersécurité
Le mois de la cybersécurité
Espionnage à grande vitesse
/
  • Espionnage à grande vitesse

    Espionnage à grande vitesse

    Oct 4, 2021 • 10:49

    Découvrez l’histoire d’espionnage industriel qui a fait tomber Jack Stones, la star des hackers.

  • To pay or not to pay ?

    To pay or not to pay ?

    Oct 14, 2021 • 11:19

    Mandaté par un concurrent pour rafler un marché concurrentiel, Jack passe de l’ombre à la lumière. Il quitte sa tanière pour s’infiltrer à visage découvert au cœur d’une entreprise. Son but : faire dérailler la chaîne de production avec un logiciel espion. Grisé par le goût du risque et l’appât…

  • Messagerie criminelle

    Messagerie criminelle

    Oct 21, 2021 • 11:25

    Jack raconte la fois où il a pu récupérer des informations sensibles via une application de messagerie et des outils en ligne utilisés par tous et de renommée mondiale. Même les géants du web laissent des failles.

  • Usurpation d'identité

    Usurpation d'identité

    Oct 28, 2021 • 11:00

    La plus grande qualité d’un hacker ? La patience. Jack aura attendu 200 jours pour passer de l’hameçonnage à la pêche miraculeuse. 200 jours pour déstabiliser une entreprise avant son entrée en bourse. 200 jours passés à collecter des données, observer, intercepter des identifiants. Patiemment, il est entré dans le système…